Ramadan in 2017 will start on Saturday, the 27th of May and will continue for 30 days until Sunday, the 25th of June.

In the Muslim calendar, a holiday begins on the sunset of the previous day, so Muslims will celebrate Ramadan on the sunset of Friday, the 26th of May.

What is Ramadan?

The holiday honors the time when Allah, via the angel Gabriel, revealed the first verses of the Qur’ an, the holy book of Islam, to a caravan trader named Muhammad.

Muslims are believers of the notion that fasting cleanses the body, and the practice reminds them of the suffering of the poor.

All Muslims begin at the age of 12 to take part in the monthlong dawn-to-sunset fast that is the hallmark of Ramadan. Eating and drinking, water including is prohibited during daylight hours, and the day’s abstinence is offset by a nightly meal known as iftar.

At the end of the 30-day fast is Eid al-Fitr (Festival of Breaking the Fast), when there is much feasting and celebration.


Recommended Posts